One-Year Housing Justice Cohort: Informational Webinar- Saturday, Oct. 13th, 10 AM Pacific / 11 AM Mountain / 12 PM Central / 1 PM Eastern

29 Aug

RSVP TODAY!

temple city homeless coaliton

Saturday, Oct. 13, 2018

10 AM Pacific / 11 AM Mountain / 12 PM Central / 1 PM Eastern

We hope you can join us for an informational webinar on the new One-Year Cohort that the Housing Justice Institute is offering in 2019. This free webinar will provide background information for those interested in learning more about this training opportunity! if you attend this webinar, you will receive a $100 discount if you join the Cohort.

This informational webinar is a follow up to our Biblical Housing Justice 2018 Summer Webinar Series held earlier this month. For links to presentation materials and mp3 recordings of the Summer Webinar Series please visit www.housingministries.org under the Housing Justice Work section of the website.

Host:
Housing Ministries Network

Webinar Leader:
Dr. Jill Suzanne Shook, Professor, Advocate, One day and one year Housing Justice Institute coordinator

IMG_4233

One-Year Institute

The One-Year Institute is comprised of a cohort of no more than 14 passionate and committed people of faith who will learn ways to address housing/homeless crisis in their communities through local churches, partnerships and policy. Participants will practice within their own community a theology of advocacy, land use, and housing as part of God’s mission and the human right to housing.

This course has been offered at Azusa Pacific University in the Graduate Social Work Department. If you wish to earn credit from your own higher learning institution, please email Jill@makinghousinghappen.com and she will send you approved curriculum that you may want to use or adapt for your institution.

We will meet in person for five days in January at a lovely retreat center in Sierra Madre, CA, adjacent to Pasadena. We have the freedom to adjust the year’s curriculum somewhat based on the expectation and needs of participants. From February to September we will meet on-line once a month and also enjoy a phone check in/reflection/prayer time once a month. In October we will attend the Grounded Solutions Network national conference, which will provide a wealth of support in long-term solution to the housing crisis with best practice practitioners from throughout the US.

We will examine case studies of how churches and faith-rooted visionaries, community developers, advocates and community organizers are addressing the housing crisis, and thereby transforming people and communities. Guest speakers, interactive assignments, readings, site visits, community-based research and skill development as well as firsthand experiences to engage with affordable housing developers, local decision makers, policy, best practice models and processes of systemic change within a community.

RSVP

Please RSVP if you are interested in attending this free informational webinar. Click the RSVP Button below to register today! For questions please email Jill@makinghousinghappen.com

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: